Latest Review

The magical Lisbeth Salander novels

To date (December 2017), a total of five novels have been published in the Millennium Series originated by Swedish author Stieg Larsson. Larsson wrote the first three in a projected series of ten before suddenly passing away at the age of fifty in 2004. The three books were published posthumously beginning in 2005. By March 2015, the series had sold an aggregate of eighty milli [...]

Continue reading

About Dystopian Fiction

Hell on Earth book by Mal WarwickIn Hell on Earth: What we can learn from dystopian fiction, I’ve analyzed 62 dystopian novels, categorizing them by the theme that’s dominant in each: totalitarianism, climate change, nuclear war, overpopulation, genetic engineering, religious extremism, artificial intelligence, runaway consumerism, and pandemic.

Each chapter includes my thoughts about how realistic these scenarios might be. And, no, it’s not all depressing!

Continue reading

 “A fascinating read. The author draws from a combination of current events, history, and the themes of dystopian fiction to paint his own scenarios of how we might find ourselves in a nightmare future world.”


Latest Posts


Nonfiction

Debunking the popular myths about genetics

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived: The Human Story Retold Through Our Genes  by Adam Rutherford @@@@ (4 out of 5) There is no gene for evil. Black people have no genetic predisposition to excel at sports. Tay-Sachs is not a Jewish disease. Native Americans are not genetically predisposed to alcoholism. And, of course, there is no such thing as a “race” i [...]

Continue reading

Trade Fiction

Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga continues

Cetaganda (Vorkosigan Saga #6) by Lois McMaster Bujold @@@@ (4 out of 5) Much of classic science fiction consisted of what came to be called "space opera"—and most of it was junk. With some notable exceptions, the format is rarely used today. However, the multiple-award-winner Lois McMaster Bujold has updated the space opera with a long (and ongoing) series of novels, n [...]

Continue reading

Mysteries & Thrillers

Alan Furst: spies at work in WWII Istanbul and Rumania

Blood of Victory (Night Soldiers #7) by Alan Furst @@@@ (4 out of 5) Blood of Victory is the seventh of the fourteen historical novels to date in the celebrated Night Soldiers series by Alan Furst. Written in the tradition of Eric Ambler and Graham Greene, the Night Soldiers stories are set in Europe during the period 1933-44. The action ranges all across Continent, from [...]

Continue reading

Commentaries

The magical Lisbeth Salander novels

To date (December 2017), a total of five novels have been published in the Millennium Series originated by Swedish author Stieg Larsson. Larsson wrote the first three in a projected series of ten before suddenly passing away at the age of fifty in 2004. The three books were published posthumously beginning in 2005. By March 2015, the series had sold an aggregate of eighty milli [...]

Continue reading