And Justice There Is None by Deborah Crombie

Detective Inspector Gemma James and her former partner and current lover, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid, make the big move into a home together in the eighth book in Deborah Crombie‘s excellent murder mystery series chronicling their rise through the ranks in the Metropolitan Police.

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

The antiques trade is the setting

The plot of And Justice There is None is fully as complex as those of others I’ve read in the series, and the seemingly unrelated characters introduced early in the book become convincingly intertwined as the mystery unfolds. The backdrop for this story is the London antiques trade, which becomes more comprehensible in the telling.

And Justice There Is None (Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James #8) by Deborah Crombie (2002) 416 pages ★★★★★

About the author

Deborah Crombie divides her time between North Texas, where she lives, and the UK, where she travels to research the novels in this engrossing series. As in others of her thirteen novels, each chapter begins with a short excerpt from a history or travel guide to the neighborhood where the story is set. Clearly, this is a writer who does her research.

I’ve been reading Deborah Crombie’s novels for many years. The other books I’ve reviewed recently include:

You might also enjoy my posts:

For an abundance of great mystery stories, go to Top 20 suspenseful detective novels. And if you’re looking for exciting historical novels, check out Top 10 historical mysteries and thrillers.

And you can always find my most popular reviews, and the most recent ones, on the Home Page.